2 Years

I’m sitting in a hotel lobby in New Orleans realizing I have been on a new journey for 2 years now. On the way to the airport, I cried. I cried over and over, trying to wipe the make-up under my eyes so I didn’t look a mess when I met some new team members for the first time.

Why was I crying? The past 2 years have been a big transformation on the inside. You ask any coach, and the physical transformations we go through are absolutely minuscule compared to the mental transformations…the growth on the inside…the mindset change..the growth in faith…the change in perspective.

I was crying because of gratefulness for the dream job I didn’t know existing…for the fact that Got put me here and is pushing me everyday outside my comfort zone to change my life and others. I cried because it is scary. It’s not what society tells us to do. Society says you go to school, you get your degree, and you go to work everyday until you hit retirement age. It’s scary because people don’t believe in you. You get eye rolls. You feel a lot of self doubt along the way. You question the process. You second guess your abilities to change people’s lives, to lead people, to really make an impact.

But since I’ve opened my heart to this and have prayed EVERY SINGLE DAY that God guides me in the direction He wants me to go, those scary things just don’t affect me as much. For every eye roll I have gotten, I’ve gotten 20 messages saying “I finally hit my goal weight!”, “Because of you I have learned to love myself”, “This has saved me”, “I’ve lost 80 pounds and I’m going to keep going”.

For every person that has unfriended me, I’ve gained 100 that love me, support me. And every time I start second guessing and letting the fears come, that maybe I just need to go back to my old path, I get a sign..a God wink..that is just so freakin’ obvious I can’t ignore it.

I don’t know what the end of this path looks like. I don’t need to know. All I know is I’m 100% sure this is where God intends for me to be right now…He is pushing me to put in the work, to reach people and give them the chance to change their lives…to grow myself because our internal growth and faith is something we have to work on every day…to build these relationships that are so raw and authentic. He’s pushing me to change my life and my family’s life.

Taking that random leap 2 years ago was not by chance. I think we need to remember those little tugs inside of us…those little glimpses of the dreams we have…those are often God talking to us, but too many times I see people push them down because of fear. One of my teammates sent me our daily devotional for the day:

“Keep walking with Me along the path I have chosen for you. Your desire to live close to Me is a delight to My heart. I could instantly grant you the spiritual riches you desire, but that is not My way for you. Together we will forge a pathway up the high mountain. The journey is arduous at times and you are weak. Someday you will dance light-footed on the high peaks; but for now, your walk is often plodding and heavy. All I require of you is to take the next step, clinging to My hand for strength and direction. Though the path is difficult and the scenery dull at the moment, there are sparkling surprises just around the bend. Stay on the path I have selected for you. It is truly the path of Life. ” ~Jesus Calling, Sarah Young

I will keep stepping, I will keep clinging to His hands, and I will enjoy and delight in the journey along the way. Because this journey can be amazing if we let it.

Leave a Reply

