Never Enough

I am the definition of scarcity. Brene Brown says we live in a world of scarcity. I agree! She asks, do you wake up in the morning thinking, “I didn’t get enough sleep” Do you go to bed at night thinking, “I didn’t get enough done.”

Umm…yes. In addition, there are so many more scarcity thoughts running through my head daily.

I didn’t spend enough time or pay enough attention to my children because I was so busy cleaning and working.

I didn’t get as much of the house clean as I wanted.

I wasn’t nearly as present at work with my patients as I should have been.

I’m not making enough money because I didn’t spend enough time working.

I didn’t do well enough on my nutrition (story of my life).

I wasn’t patient enough with my family.

I feel like I barely made a dent in my to do list.

I wasn’t a good enough wife, because, well, I have 4 kids and my poor husband gets a small bit of my attention at the end of a day where I didn’t get enough done and didn’t get enough sleep.

I didn’t have enough time.

Seriously, is this anyone else’s thought process every single day? This is living a life of scarcity. We are never enough. It’s hard to let go of that perception and just say, I am enough! It’s hard to be proud of what we did accomplish in a day instead of focusing on what we didn’t.

It’s not easy, but wouldn’t it be a relief to wake up and say, “I had a perfect amount of sleep” or to go to bed thinking, “I got a lot done, just enough, and I’m proud of myself”. Excited to dig more into this book for some tools on how to just feel like I’m enough. I’m a dreamer, I’m a hustler when it comes to my goals, so I’m not sure this will be easy for me. However, I also think we need to just embrace ourselves and realize life isn’t going to slow down and maybe what we have done is enough.

Funny thing. I woke up this morning, the day after I wrote this, and read my devotional. God was speaking to me on the same topic…yet reminding me I don’t have to be enough. That is what He is for. To give me the power to and resources I need every day.

“No matter how inadequate you may feel, you can always look to Me for help. You don’t need to go to a special place or assume a certain posture to seek my Face. Nor do you need to use elegant language or work to win My favor. I always look favorably on you because I see you clothed in My righteousness. I am alive in you, and I understand your thoughts perfectly. So a simple glance at Me- made in faith- is enough to connect you to My help.

You tend to waste energy trying to determine whether your resources are adequate for the day. You keep checking you ‘power gauge’ instead of looking to Me for My provision. How much better to simply acknowledge your insufficiency when you awaken! This frees you to rely on My boundless sufficiency. If you stay in touch with Me, I will place enough Power at your disposal to meet your needs as they arise. Keep turning toward Me, your ever-present Help, and your strength will be equal to the demands.” ~Jesus Calling, Sarah Young

You are enough because you have Him in your court every day.

One thought on “Never Enough

Leave a Reply

