New Things

It is so easy to get wrapped up in your day to day routine.  It’s so easy to just stay where it feels safe and tell yourself any other dreams and goals are probably not meant to be.  I went to school, got my planned degree in Physical Therapy, got married, had 4 kids.  I worked part time, my husband full time plus hours and hours of over time, we bought our dream house, and that was that.  I figured I had met the basic goals of life and that’s what we would be until we retired.

Then God started changing things in my life.  I’ve always been a dreamer, so I had these far off dreams and goals that I didn’t necessarily believe I would ever do…maybe when my kids were grown and I reached retirement age?  Yet it all seemed to happen in one year.  I started a new business that opened my eyes to a whole new world and new goals and dreams.  Aren’t I too old to go on a new career path?  To become an entrepreneur?  God kept pushing me to take the leap, then I started a blog.  Now I’m working on a book.  My dream of owning vacation homes came true suddenly when my mom, my sister, and I took a crazy leap and jumped on an opportunity.  My visions of fostering or adopting older children turned into the blessing of a 17 year old from Norway adding to our family for a year.

Isn’t it crazy how if you pray and let God lead, some of the wild and crazy dreams come true? Things that you don’t think are possible or maybe not meant to be where you are in your life?  Life is too short.  You are never too old.  You are never too stuck.  Quit limiting yourself.

My husband wants to be a  chef.  By golly if I’m not going to push him.  If not now, then when?

“Reinforce your confidence in Me by saying frequently: “I trust you, Jesus.”  Uttering those four words can brighten your day immediately.  Dark clouds of worry are blown away by simple, childlike trust.

I am doing a new thing!  Be on the lookout for all that I am accomplishing in your life.  Ask Me to open the eyes of your mind and heart so you can see the many opportunities I’ve placed along your path.  Don’t fall into such a routine that you see only the same old things- and miss the newness.  Remember that I can make a way where there appears to be no way.  With Me all things are possible!” ~Sarah Young, Jesus Calling.

Leave a Reply

