Look In Yourself…Find Your Passion

If you did not read my last blog and figure out what number you are, please go back and do so.  I’m ready to teach you how to become a 3.  There will be other times we can discuss how to become a 4, but since I am living the life of a 3, I feel better equipped to discuss these strategies.

Many of the strategies I am discussing are from John Maxwell’s “The 15 Invaluable Laws of Growth”.   John Maxwell teaches us in order to become one of those “fulfilled” people, we have to know ourselves.  This is not easy for some people.

So, what are your passions?  You want to find something that tugs on your heart.  When you are passionate about something, you overcome fears, you overcome obstacles, you feel energetic and alive when you are working on it.   Do you currently like what you are doing now?  I’m going to ask you an even bigger question than John Maxwell asks.  Do you LOVE what you are doing now?  Is what you are doing now getting closer to your big vision in life?

I like my job as a Physical Therapist.  However, I didn’t realize what passion and love were until I started my new business, until God pushed me into something completely unexpected.  At the same time, you have to be honest and aware of yourself.  You have to know what you are good at, and this can be hard.  Did I ever think leadership or communication were my strengths? Absolutely not! But that is where my new passion has taken me and has shown me a possible new characteristic I didn’t previously see in myself.  On the other hand, if your dream is to be a professional football player, yet you lack the skills to catch  anything coming in your direction, it might not be the direction you want to put all your energy into pursuing.

You have to know what your strengths are, where you can grow, and what gives you passion.  This doesn’t mean you have to be the best! I was the WORST communicator!  Yet, I enjoyed writing.  I also enjoyed helping people. And when I found something I was passionate about that required communicating, I have been able to grow in that area, helping me even in my personal life.  “Passion gives you energy.  Passion gives you an advantage over others, because one person with passion is greater than ninety-nine who have only an interest!”

Look inside you. “Your vision will become clear only when you look into your heart.  Who looks outside, dreams.  Who looks inside, awakens” ~Carl Jung

You have to look inside to see what drives you, to learn what your true passion is.  You have to take risks.   Make sure you are doing something for the right reasons.  Discover your vision and your why.

Above all, pray.  Pray God opens your eyes and heart to show you the direction He wants you to take in life.  Pray He shows your that passion and remember to listen to Him as your pursue it.  Don’t keep your eyes closed to the opportunities around you. God whispers, he does not usually yell.  When you pray and keep your eyes open, let go of your fears, and allow yourself to trust, you will be on your way to becoming a number 3.

John Maxwell leaves us with this:

“Knowing yourself and what you want to do is one of the most important things you’ll ever do in this life.”

Leave a Reply

