Random Thoughts on a Beach…Go For the Risk

I have always been a dreamer. My mother blessed me with the ability to dream. I learned by watching her and my dad that there is nothing you can’t do. If you want something, go for it. If something doesn’t work out, you fix it. They taught us kids how to enjoy life to it’s fullest and enjoy every moment. When things seemed impossible, my parents found a way to make it possible.

I am sitting on the beach.  There is a feeling I get when standing in the sand, looking out at the vast ocean. It’s hard to put into words. I feel like you can’t look at the ocean, with the waves building their crest, crashing, then gently tiptoeing further up the shore without knowing immediately there is a God. I can’t look down at the miles of beautiful white sand and the way the world seems to go on forever when you look beyond the horizon without being in awe of the world God has created.

It makes all the small trials of life seem insignificant. There is something bigger than our ups and downs in life.  There are so many things that are more important in the “big” picture of life than the bills that need paid, the laundry that needs done, the kids clothes not matching for school.  The ocean reminds me of that and I think that’s why I have always wanted to own a house on the beach. I want to be able to share that with everyone.

Back to my original thought, I am so grateful my parents taught me to go for my dreams.  Last year, my mom, sister, and I decided to go in together and purchase a beach house…a far away dream of ours that I couldn’t believe we were actually considering.  It all happened quicker than we meant it to..like it was meant to be. Trust me, we didn’t have thousands of extra dollars laying around…we couldn’t, like the realtor explained that most people do, buy a second home with cash. We were sitting together in a hotel room with a calculator, trying to figure out if our projected rental income would be enough to cover our monthly mortgage. This was a big risk for us. This was scary. But with lots of prayer and determination, we made it work.

So many people are scared to go for something because it’s not the right time. Trust me, buying a second home when we did was not the right time. If we waited for the right time, it probably wouldn’t have happened.  Starting my business as a Beachbody coach and becoming vulnerable and getting over fears to open up to the world was definitely not the right time. I work, I have 4 kids, we have baseball, piano, gymnastics, drama…my 2 year old doesn’t go to bed unless I lie down with him until he falls asleep…I don’t have extra money to put towards a business. Those were all valid reasons why it wasn’t the right time.

A top ten coach, Lauren Duke, met with my coaching team on my retreat this weekend and said something that really made sense to me.  People will tell you they can’t go for a dream, a goal, try something new because of the “stuff” going on in their lives. Lauren said, “When is there not “stuff” going on in your life. There is and will always be “stuff” going on in your life. That is life!”

That is so true.  If you wait until the time is right, you might miss out on something. I could have waited until we paid off my current house and were retiring to purchase a beach house, but imagine all the time with my parents I would have missed out on there…all the people in the next 20 years that will get to enjoy it and make memories that wouldn’t have gotten to…and there is a good chance in 20 years, it still wouldn’t be the “right” time because there is always “stuff” going on in life.

It’s scary to go for something new. It’s okay to be scared of failure, nervous that it isn’t the right time. But I promise you won’t ever reach your dreams if you don’t take that first step and go for it. You can’t reach a goal if you don’t take the first step.

“All that I require of you is to take the next step, clinging to My hand for strength and direction.” ~Jesus Calling by Sarah Young

Leave a Reply

