Reflections in the Sand

The last couple days have been indescribable. Nine months ago, I said a prayer. I was feeling down on myself, unenergetic, disappointed that my eating habits were out of control. Now I wasn’t overweight, but the way your body feels when you are filling it with fast food, sweets, overstuffing it everynight…it sucks the life out of you…steals your motivation…makes you want to go to bed at 8:00 with your kids.

I felt guilty praying about my fitness and health journey. It seemed a little self centered. But nothing else was working and I prayed about everything else in my life.

“I want you to experience the riches of your salvation: the Joy of being loved constantly and perfectly. You make a practice of judging yourself, based on how you look or behave or feel. If you like what you see in the miror, you feel a bit more worthy of My Love. When things are going smoothly and your performance seems adequate, you find it easier to believe you are My beloved child. When you feel discouraged, you tend to look inward so you can correct whatever is wrong.

Instead of trying to “fix” yourself, fix your gaze on Me, the Lover of your soul. Rather than using your energy to judge yourself, redirect it to praising Me. Remember that I see you clothed in My rightousness, radiant in My perfect Love.” ~Jesus Calling

The next day, I saw an commercial for Beachbody on Demand and signed up for a 30 day free trial just to try out some new workouts. I got an email that day from a girl saying she was my coach and was there for support if I needed anything. I asked her what she did as a coach and what in the world this coaching thing was, and after she explained it to me, I just felt a push from somewhere. This was my God wink. I had no idea what I was doing and was more skeptical than you can imagine, but I took a leap and became an online fitness coach.

It’s weird the things and people God puts in your life when you need it. Never in a million years would I have imagined myself doing something like this. Yes, this online coaching gave me a renewed motivation with my eating habits and health journey. But it gave me so much more than that. Though I prayed for help with my fitness journey, I soon learn God had a bigger plan. It put a whole new support in my life, it  has taught me what is really important to focus on in life, it’s given me confidence and a voice that I didn’t know I could have. Because of this journey, I have gained a support system that encourages me to follow my dreams, live a life of significance, and above all, let God lead me.

Two days ago, I arrived on this beautiful Gulf beach, meeting 12 women who have been my partners online for the last 9 months. Finally being able to hug these ladies was amazing, some I already felt like I knew for years having met with them online and on the phone so often. This retreat with the top leaders of our team has been nothing short of inspiring..seeing all of these normal, everyday moms…some with full time jobs as lawyers…some part time..some stay at home…these ladies are living a life of significance. They are working so hard to make a difference in other people’s lives, in their own family’s life.

My life was amazing before Beachbody. I have been extremely blessed with my family, my husband’s family, and I couldn’t ask for a more supportive and loving husband and kids.  I have a wonderful job as  a Physical Therapist. However, there was just something about this new adventure God laid in front of me that lit something inside me. A feeling of excitement every morning, a new feeling of energy, a feeling that I really could give more in this world and live my life with even more significance.

So as I sit here on the beach, with my  coffee and devotional, I just have to reflect on all the amazing things that can happen when you give God the reigns. Don’t be scared to listen to Him. Don’t feel guilty praying and don’t close your eyes to the little signs he may be giving you. When you start asking Him to lead your life, you will be fulfilled in a way you never expected.

Leave a Reply

